Love square

Something that stood out to me throughout this whole play was the love square. Here we have two girls who are good friends Helena and Hermia and potentially they are both in love with a different guy but both guys love only Hermia. You have Hermia who loves Lysander, Lysander loves Hermia, Helena love Demetrius and Demetrius loves Hermia. All this leads me to think about is how Helena must feel. To be truthful she probably feels like absolute shit and I’m sure at this point she doesn’t have the greatest self-esteem either. Back in high school I had this friend who got all of the guys, I don’t know how she did it but it was like everyone flocked to her and to be honest in my opinion she wasn’t that pretty. I mean I’m not saying I am downright gorgeous but she was no Cinderella either. I never understood it, and how can one girl handle all those guys any way, you would think she would want to share but she loved it and loved the attention. No matter how hard I tried to talk to one of her many guys they didn’t want to give me the time off day, they rather all fight and see who receives the prize first, men are dogs. One of the important themes in this story,  love is difficult as well as confusing. “The course of true love never did run smooth” (1.i.134) The constant imbalance of love throughout the play changes to a happy ending at the end of the play when the lovers all marry.

Another thing I found interesting that Shakespeare did was indirectly incorporate Romeo and Juliet into A Midsummer Night’s Dream. The main event of it is that in both stories you have young lovers with feuding families, these lovers only get to see each other in the dark of the night. Then the male men believe that their lover has died so they kill themselves and then the girls find the guys dead and they too commit suicide.

There are many emotions these characters experience throughout the play, such as jealousy, love sickness and insecurity, this play is everything from a tragedy, comedy, to a love story.

Leave a Reply

