A Midterm Night’s Dream

Reflecting on the two blogs (not three, unfortunately) I’ve posted this semester is one of great reflection. There is a trend in my blogs of some rambling, which is kind of how my brain works when describing something and in respect, reflects in my writing as well. Regardless, I have found other trends in my writing. I tend to love to write about character as opposed to plot. As a performance concentration theatre major, much of what interests me are characters and their love, their flaws, their intent, and their relationships with other characters. In both of my blogs I chose to focus on two characters: Helena in A Midsummer Night’s Dream and in my Richard III blog comparing two famous villainous characters Richard III and Iago. I tended to comment on how they all have these fits of despair and/or genius. I find my writing to be very conversationalist such as using the wording in my first blog, “Whew! That’s a whole lot of love” and in my second blog, “Doesn’t everyone want to be the evil villain at some point in their life? … No? That’s just me?” I don’t love having to be so ‘scholarly’ in my writing and write in observations and also try to make readers enjoy my reading by using humor in what I write. And in writing with humor in mind, I therefore make the writing more conversationalist by inserting bits of small puns into what I say.

Another critique I’d point out is I tend to do a little bit of plot summaries which I could afford to do less. Though, I’m consistently trying to use the plot summaries to make my point such as describing Richard III and Iago’s evil mastermind plans and how they are similar and different. By just saying “oh, yeah, they’re evil and have great plans” it wouldn’t really make my point valid, now would it? But what could give my points more validity would be more use of quotations in my posts. My Richard III blog didn’t have a single quotation in it which is actually downgrading from my original blog which had three separate quotes. This is one task I could afford to improve on for the next blog. Perhaps the next blog I write I’ll put in 4 quotes to give me a little bump in improving on putting in quotations. However, I noticed that when I did use quotes in my first blog, I merely described what they meant when I could’ve made them more personal to what my point is: how crappy everyone was treating Helena.

I also only got credit for 1 comment when I commented on 2/3 of the comments for the course so far I was supposed to do. Perhaps it just didn’t post? Was a little disappointed to find that my grade was lower than I had anticipated. I knew not doing one of the blogs would be a little detrimental but yazoo! Won’t be missing another.

WordPress in general is a little hard to navigate and I’m not the biggest fan of it. Yes, it is a good tool for using for past and future classes, but when I want to search for something that one of my current classmates have wrote, it’s a little harder to use as I’m used to the blackboard blogs format as I’ve used in other classes in the past. Even logging into WordPress is annoying. The tab on top that indicates my username, Shakespeare I, and New Post sometimes simply don’t show up and it typically takes me up to 10 minutes to get logged on because of the slowness of the actual website. 

In general, I need to focus on the criteria of the guidelines of the blogs for the class and make my points in a more concise and clear manner instead of beating around the bush. I also need to focus my quotations in better and perhaps try to make my blogs a little less conversational. However, I do know that being conversational isn’t a terrible thing and it is my writing style that I most am comfortable with. Also, I know that my posts aren’t awful but need some slight improvements to guarantee that grand 4/4 I’m striving for in my blog posts. 

Leave a Reply

