final blog post — revising A Mid Summer Night’s Dream

A Midsummer Night’s Dream might have been one of my favorite plays that we have read this semester. The intriguing characters really did it good for me. I felt as though I engaged with all of the characters presented in this play, and was fully able to follow them as they journeyed. In my initial A Midsummer Night’s Dream blog post I talked about how I thought Act V was unnecessary and thought that it did not really make any difference to the play. Although I felt this way originally, after having talked about it more in class and viewing the comments made on my post, I seemed to have changed my original opinion on it. No specific instance changed my mind; I guess I just noticed all of the minor, yet important occurrences that happened in Act V. One minor thing I noticed was Egeus’ confidence level shifting from more to less self-assured during his soliloquy. This was important because it showed a pretty dramatic change in one of the main character’s personality. Another thing I noticed was a bit more important: the idea of the dreams being linked to the mishaps in the story. It also brought in the importance of dreams in the plot because it showed the themes of darkness and love and what they supplied to the story in full. I also found Puck’s end speech to be more important than I did initially. This speech consisted of him telling the audience that if they did not like the play or if they have been offended in any way by things said in the play, that they had to have been dreaming. “Think but this, and all is mended: that you have but slumbered here, while these visions did appear.” This obviously can be seen as tying into the importance of dreams, as well. He also basically begs for the audience’s applause at the end of the Act V, which I find ironic being that I found this to be one of the best of Shakespeare’s plays—even though it was on the long and mildly tedious sides. While I changed my ideas about Act V in certain aspects, I definitely kept my ideas about what kept my interest in this story and in stories in general: humor and odd character relationships. Act V kind of supplied a comedic epilogue of sorts that really pulled everything together, while the rest of the play brought the main action and conflicts, and such. Act V really tied that all together for me, now that I notice it.

Leave a Reply

