Midterm Blog Post

My first three blog posts covered the social and political constructs of Elizabethan society as shown by Shakespeare’s various plays. My three blog posts have stayed relatively the same in both length and style and even topics. Although I do feel that I staggered a bit on my examination of the my thesis for my blog posts in the first and second posts. The reason I think my third post “The Divine Right of Kings” is my strongest with supporting evidence is because I was able to tie in both knowledge of how prophecies work in Shakespeare from studying Richard III, and also how Kings came into power in Elizabethan power and the idea of divine right. My third post was much more concise while my first two, “What Birth Status Means in The Taming of the Shrew” and “What Can End a Feud” were fueled by vague concepts.

The one idea that I think could really revisit is the idea of gender identity in Shakespeare as touched on in my first post. This could be examined through the portrayal of women, or the lack of portrayal in the history plays compared to the comedies. Furthermore, the idea of masculinity is very important in Shakespeare’s plays, and there are both respectable and disrespected masculine identities in Henry IV part one, through the character of Prince Hal. Frivolous activity in the bars for Prince Hal causes his father to be ashamed of him, yet in Henry IV part two Hal’s demeanor changes to a more acceptable one once he accepts his responsibilities as a future King.

One of the reasons I enjoy the weekly blogging, is because it’s an easy way to share my readings of Shakespeare. While the stories in the plays are universally the same, one person may pick up on different themes or ways to read a character. By sharing my own ideas and reading others it broadens my understanding of Shakespeare and allows me to change how I view each new text I read.   

 

Leave a Reply

