Midterm Blog Post

After re reading my blog posts for this semester, I notice I focus a lot of the major concepts and themes of the plays.  Referring to my latest post, I focused my attention on whether Shakespeare was writing a tragedy or comedy. This seems to interest me in Shakespeare because including both marriage and death seem to create a tragic comedy.  I like to put Shakespeare’s plays in categories because it helps me organize my thoughts and understand the characters better. (Not to mention the plot as well). Something unique about my latest post was that I left it open ended with a question. What I’ve been noticing while I read is that sometimes Shakespeare writes his plays and leaves it up to interpretation. Maybe there isn’t a set category or genre; it may just be up for us to decide. My previous posts all seem to set on a putting the plays in their correct categories, now I feel like I am developing my own sense of interpretation.

                My first post of the semester titled ‘I’ve got the power…or Not!’ seemingly focused on my encounter with the text, how it made me feel. I didn’t notice any further analysis like I did in my latest post. What I really enjoyed about reflecting on my latest post was that I wrote about the presence of women in The Taming of the Shrew. Now, that is still a topic that interests me and I will continue to think about that theme in future Shakespeare plays. I also enjoyed the amount of quotes I used in my post, it helps me revisit how certain scenes made me feel and rethink if I still feel the same way about them today.

                Reexaminingmy comments made on my peer’s blog posts, I noticed I concrete on their writing style. If their posts are written in an organized fashion and it is clear, I tend to respond better. I tend to sift through titles to find a topic that peaks my interest and steer away from posts I disagree with.  What I could see myself changing for future posts is finding a blog that I disagree with and offer my opinion.

                As a reader of Shakespeare, I am always searching to understand the meaning of his text. Fairly knowing Shakespeare’s writing style and intelligence, I know there are always hidden meanings and more messages to decode. It is impossible to read a play of Shakespeare’s and fully grasp every meaning and concept in the text. This is something I really enjoy about Shakespeare’s writing; you can create your own interpretation or embark on a journey of trying to discover what he intended to write. Either way, you become a satisfied and critical reader. Without reflecting upon my posts throughout the semester, I wouldn’t have read over my own interpretations and been able to read over other student’s perceptions. It is really helpful to have my peer’s insight to such complicated text. It helps me develop as a critical reader of Shakespeare while also envisioning other ways Shakespeare intended his audience to read his plays.

Leave a Reply

