Midterm Blog

Looking back at my three blog posts I noticed that I tend to write about smaller characters and scenes in the plays that usually don’t get a lot of attention.  I enjoy these scenes the most for this reason and for the fact that they often give the reader a moment of insight into the true nature of the characters.  In my first blog post I did write about a major theme, however, which was the identity shifts that occur in Taming of the Shrew.  I do wish that I had been able to blog about this play a little later on when the main conflict occurs because I find Katherine such a rich and interesting character and found myself less interested in the Christopher Sly frame story and Lucentio’s somewhat desperate quest for Bianca’s heart.

I enjoyed writing my second blog post much more, where I discussed the Friar’s part in Romeo and Juliet.  After class discussion on the Friar, I realized that I might have developed an overly optimistic view of him as people pointed out his detrimental affect on the two young lovers.  I argued that he was really the only character who gave Romeo and Juliet any kind of wise advice on their rushed marriage and subsequent separation.  I particularly liked his dialogue with Romeo when he points out how quickly young men change their minds on women, especially in regards to their looks.  I still believe that the Friar was the only character to show any hesitation, but I should have perhaps added a little more of the other side and how the Friar was instrumental in their untimely deaths as well.  The Friar himself was overly optimistic in thinking that the marriage he helped arrange would end the family feud between the two families. 

My third blog post was on the first scene in Act V in Richard II and was my favorite post as it addressed a short scene between Richard and his wife, Isabel.  It is the only scene that we get a look into another side of Richard: his love for another person.  This intrigued me because before this scene Richard is presented as a ruthless and selfish man and king with little regard for others.  Here, we see his deep affection for Isabel and how being torn apart from her affects him.  This blog post is the one I would most like to expand on in an essay if I had the opportunity.

As a reader of Shakespeare, I definitely like to pick out the little details that Shakespeare scatters throughout his plays and analyze them further.  One of my favorite aspects of his plays is his ability to weave smaller sub-plots with the larger theme of the play, and insert characters in just a scene or two to offer a different perspective on the events of the play (Isabel in Richard II or Nim, Bardolph, and Pistol in Henry V).  I value the weekly blogging as it allows for an analysis of these scenes that might get overlooked due to their brevity.  I also enjoy the discussion that blogging opens up; I have found that the comments section has been a great place for us, as a class, to discuss specific aspects of the play and offer our opinions and suggestions.  

Leave a Reply

