Midterm Blog Post

Going back over my blog posts I found that, though my themes are a little sporadic (disguise, sex, and curses), I found that my latter two blog posts on Richard II and Romeo and Juliet divulge dark tones of death incorporated through the use of rhetoric to describe treachery towards family and towards God whether it be in a sexual way or in a political way. While my first blog post was a me getting my feet wet into the idea of blogging about Shakespeare and on WordPress.com, the post about The Taming of the Shrew pushed me forward into thinking more critically about Shakespeare’s works.

In my first blog post about The Taming of the Shrew, I focused on the essence of disguise both on the characters in the Induction by presenting Christopher Sly as something he is not: a lord, and also look at the swapping of social classes through clothing in the play of The Taming of the Shrew itself. I found myself focusing on the theme of identity, where boundaries are crossed both in the world of the play and in the world of the player not just in The Taming of the Shew itself, but also in Shakespeare’s reality. If I had to go back and find a common theme for all of my blog posts to have, the crucial theme of identity (between the identity of those in disguise in TTotS, Identity through names or sexual identity in R&J, and Identity regarding a ruler in terms of divine right). Even though my first post was a rocky start in my own opinion, I feel that if I could go back and do revisions like the writer in me craves to do, I could definitely expand on identity of the characters in The Taming of the Shrew in comparison to the other characters from the different plays we’ve read so far.

Having read Romeo and Juliet before, I am happy the direction that I took by engaging in a more hypersexualized reading of the text. Re-reading my post “Sex in Verona,” I have the urge to write a larger paper on the sexual connotation and imagery in which no only the main characters are enveloped in, but also the minor characters through their vulgarity and the sexual ways that are brought out through their vulgar language. Having read Richard II, I can see a direct correlation regarding the connotation of blood revolving around family, and could have worked my third blog post in a whole different direction by comparing and contrasting the two stories and the motivation behind blood and family as a whole regarding a lineage of the royal family and the two rivaling families. I was extremely excited to see how popular my post was among my classmates and reading their comments, seeing how my post brought out a new way to read the play is a great feeling to have.

In my third blog post which I had titled “When Divine Right Goes Horribly Wrong,” I focused on the affecting notion of Divine Right within Richard II and how characters the characters went about reacting to the essence of Divine Right being tainted–and then comes the curses. I found myself alluding to the curse set my Mercuito in R&J because of how similar the literary content of the tragedy and the Henriad play coincide together. I was very proud how my post came out, but after going back and reading over what I read, I would like to expand on the connection between the curse on the houses of Capulet and Montague in Romeo & Juliet  and the curse that the Bishop of Carlisle casts on Henry Bolingbroke when he goes to usurp the crown from Richard II and see how the follow-through of the curses are similar and different, especially in regards to the duration of the plays.

While writing my first blog post, I remember the uncomfortable feeling of trying to write about Shakespeare. It had been years since I last read a text by the Bard, and I was nervous on trying to get my thoughts down on the screen and also worried that I had interpreted the text completely wrong. Though, by the second and third blog post, I found myself thinking more critically, trying to go outside the box or even tie two different texts together based on content. I can definitely say that I enjoy writing blog posts much more now than when I first started, because I feel as if I have a much firmer grasp on Shakespeare than I ever had before.

Leave a Reply

