Midterm Meta-Post

After having reread the three main blog posts I have written for this semester, I realized my argument structure has improved a bit each post. That is not to say, however, that there aren’t flaws in my arguments or that questions haven’t arisen from what I’ve laid forth. For example, in my first blog post about The Taming of the Shrew there are certain points that could have (along with some misspellings or phrases) been simplified. There were also points that could have been expanded on or explored, such as the statement of Sly’s humiliation in the first paragraph. Looking back, I feel as though I should have also considered that despite it being humiliating, it also wasn’t because Sly himself didn’t know that it all truly happened. He simply awoke lost and confused, therefore assuming it was just a wonderful dream he had. The emotions that I considered about how he was then left worse off because of tasting a better life are still accurate (in my opinion) because despite the assumption being that it was all a dream, it left him with the same feeling as if he had known it had happened: he wanted it back.

            Another example of how an argument could have been expanded would be that of my second blog post for Romeo and Juliet. At the end of the second paragraph, “Shakespeare is showing the beginning stages of what could be love, one day.  He uses Romeo and Juliet as pieces in the example of how young love is quite fickle and moves so easily to what best suits the hormonal desires”, there could have been more exploration or an extension of this notion. The exploration could have been in relation to how the passion of such a young age is hormonal but all the same can be the passion, the fire, of love beginning. Despite it being adolescent-hormone driven, even a lust like this could turn into something more. Love has to start somewhere. And attraction is one of the common grounds that tends to be found.

            These are some ideas that had sprung to my attention as I reread these posts. I did find that, at times, while my thoughts/arguments could have been explored more, my conclusions seem to wrap up quite decently and bring the entire piece to it’s point and therefore end. I also think that these are the parts I look forward to most in the weekly blogs. Being able to make my argument and then tie it up with a bow. I feel like I had to work to realize that not every avenue of an argument could be explored and kept general; I had to choose which direction I wanted to pursue and stick to it as best I could. The desire to say, “well, I could also see how it can be viewed as…” or “it makes sense that the flipside can be…” was pretty strong at times. But the point of an argument is to choose your path and justify your opinion as much as possible with the evidence you have, not go every which way trying to please every single person’s opinion.   So, I like that I know I won’t please everyone, but I still try to show them why I think a certain way about a play and at least make them understand why I think that way.

Leave a Reply

