A look back…

Reflecting on the two blogs (unfortunately, not three– whoops!) I wrote, I’m pretty proud of where they are at. Thinking about the blogs I had done last semester, those ones seemed mediocre, not too well thought out, and lacked caring. This semester: they raise valid questions, reflect on motivations of character, though they continue to have my conversational approach to writing. In the blogs, I tend to enjoy focusing on a character (such as my Richard II blog being focused solely on Bolingbroke and his coincidentally good behavior that somehow made him king) but I did enjoy how I changed up that mold to turn my Henry IV blog into a political discussion. It just really daunted on me how much people in power are never good enough in the eyes of their citizens no matter what. In some of my blogs I tend to rant, but I felt like in this particular blog it worked due to the political thoughts running through it (even comparing Henry IV to President Obama).

What benefited me in writing the blogs this semester as compared to last semester was reading the play in full before writing the blog. Last semester for example, I’d do Acts I/II reading that was due for Tuesday, but the blog would be due on Monday, and I’d only have information for the first two fifths of the show and couldn’t fully grasp the story, themes, and character’s motivations as much. This helped me map out my blogs tremendously by now being able to fully focus on a character and what their intentions were from the start of the play. This is very beneficial especially in the Richard II blog.

The blogs I wrote seem to show that I have a good understanding of Shakespeare’s plays. The blogs are straight-forward, to the point, but offer analysis’ that are highly descriptive and map you through the action of the play successfully. They also stick to the theme that the blog set out to talk about without straying off-topic unnecessarily. Each post also used quotes from the texts in appropriate ways that supported my points. For example, in the Henry IV blog, I was trying to make the point of how Hotspur was trying to accuse Henry of not sticking to his allies who helped make him king in the first place and I used a quote which had Hotspur listing the atrocities Henry did to him and his family for not sticking to his words. The other quotes in the blogs were also used in a way that supported my points without feeling like random quotes that were picked to simply have quotes in the required blog.

Having to do blogs – I’ll admit last semester – I viewed as a kind of drag in the beginning of last semester. But, with a new approach to how I formulate my blogs by preparing ahead of time, and a heightened interest in the four history plays we’re spanning between Richard II and Henry V, I’m enjoying writing them more which produces better quality out of me. I’m sort of a politics, history, and movie nerd, so having to discuss these plays is really helping me with these blogs because I’m highly interested in the political drama – it excites me to learn this history, which in some of Shakespeare’s comedies and tragedies I don’t care as much because they didn’t actually historically happen. I was always resistant to reading the histories since I viewed them as boring and not as dramatic and epic as the classic tragedies but reading them – I actually really am loving them (especially Richard II and Richard III!) With the future blogs, I’m going to create intelligent, thought-provoking, well-organized blogs that I could still continue to be proud of with an unbiased view on any of the material – though, I already love Henry V, King Lear, and especially, Macbeth, so it really shouldn’t be too hard to do that.

Leave a Reply

