Samantha Meyer, Midterm Blog Post

In looking back at the first three blogs I have done for this course, I have noticed that while the plays I talked about were different, the way in which I talked about them was similar across the board. I also noticed that I chose a very specific character aspect for each blog post rather than detailing a common theme or topic overview of the play itself. While each blog was unique and individual, I can definitely see how they are all similar in writing style and how my writing hasn’t really changed so far throughout the course.

My first blog involved the play “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” and specifically focused on the idea of the “rude mechanicals”. In this blog post I wanted to explore the idea that “Puck (also known as Robin Goodfellow) might be of the fairy realm, but his actions and purpose are eerily similar to that of the merchant players” and he may himself be a “rude mechanical”. This is the blog post that, I have to say, I am the most proud of. It was an idea that I came up with all on my own and was able to explore successfully, and for that reason this is the blog post of mine that I like the most. What surprised me about this post was how in depth I got into the topic and how precise I was when talking about the idea of being a “rude mechanical”. If there was one topic that I would definitely want to go back to and research further for a longer paper or presentation, it would be the same topic as this blog post because after reading this post I can see that I definitely have the start of something with potential here.

My second blog post wasn’t as good as the first one, but still was eloquent and interesting. It dealt with “Twelfth Night” and focused mainly on the ending of the play where “Orsino realized that Cesario was really Viola, [and] he still called Viola Cesario and never called her by her real name once”. This blog was a bit harder to read because I understood where I was trying to go with it, but I could have formed my ideas a bit better and organized them a bit better. The point of discussion of this blog is still really interesting, but not as interesting as my first blog post because I didn’t come up with this on my own. Instead, I had gone off of a topic that we were talking about in class that I am sure a bunch of other students wrote about. Because of that, I am not as proud of this post as I am of the first post I ever wrote.

This final post is the one that I am the least proud of. The reason why is because it was on act one of “Othello” and I had made wrongful assumptions about the characters and my blog post ended up being completely incorrect. In this blog post, I had assumed that Othello didn’t really love Desdemona and Roderigo was really the one who loved her and used the language of the characters to show such. Having read the rest of the play since then, I see that while this idea was original it was far from correct. Othello really did love Desdemona, he just showed it in a different way. Because I was so wrong, I am really ashamed of this blog post and wish that I could take it back and do it all over again.

In looking back at these posts, I learned that while I might not be proficient in Shakespeare, I do have some very valid points in my mind that I was able to put down on paper, and that I might not be so bad at reading into Shakespeare’s work after all! I definitely can see that I primarily focused on the traits and speech of specific characters within Shakespeare’s plays in my blog posts, and think that that will end up being a common theme throughout the rest of my blog posts as well. The reason for that is because characters are the most fundamental beings that we have when we read a play, and if we don’t understand them fully then we aren’t going to understand the action that is going on. By analyzing the characters, it gives a better insight to the play and allows for predictions to be made on how the rest of the play is going to turn out. While the way that I write hasn’t changed much, I think that my understandings of the plays have, and that is what is important.

Leave a Reply

