Blog about a Blog about a Blog; Cait G

In my blog posts, I have been trying to be clever and think outside the box. We cover a lot of information and aspects of the plays in class. Therefore, I really want to try to look at something new in my blog post or aspects of the play I found interested. In my posts I looked at different aspects for each post/play I wrote about. In blog post #1, I talked about love and its appeal/blinding in A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Obviously, love is a huge theme when it comes to Shakespeare’s plays but I spoke about what struck me while reading. (Which I think is a good topic to blog about and important.) I discuss how the various lovers “blindly” follow their mates around or trust them with their futures. Love can make it act in irrational and unrealistic ways. Hermia disobeys her father in the name of love, while Demetrus follows her around after being continuously rejected. (And doesn’t give Helena a second glance or first chance.) Another common theme in my head is how Shakespeare can be played into modern day or how we can relate Shakespeare’s ideas into a contemporary notion. There are countless movies based off of plays or adaptations of the plays into film. I looked into this aspect of A Midsummer Night’s Dream as well. In blog post #2, I had an idea of an alternative ending for Twelfth Night. I wanted to consider how else the play could end and if it would be as effective, more effective or less effective from the ending Shakespeare provided. I wasn’t satisfied with the ending, so this was my motivation for analyzing and trying to change the ending. Malvolio is essentially tortured throughout the play and doesn’t get a “happily ever after”, so I wanted to change this (after examining the give and take received by the other characters). Finally, in blog post #3, I looked for patterns concerning the opening acts of all the plays we’ve read so far. I found that each play jumps right into a story or action. The audience is introduced to characters and a world without much background, we are simply thrust into the action. Background information and contextual evidence is learned throughout, while the plot is being developed but there is also the factor of the context of the play and the time period/influence Shakespeare has when these plays are being written. It is interesting to see the patterns (similar patterns) between such different plays. I looked at Act 1 for A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Much Ado about Nothing, Twelfth Night and Othello. All the plays being (more or less) in a conversation, speech or declaration thrown right into the middle of these character’s worlds.

There aren’t really any reoccurring themes in my ideas. For the most part, I just try to think like Shakespeare or evaluate his motives for doing certain things in the play. (Such as the way he ended Twelfth Night). I try to incorporate my own opinion and see if my peers respond similarly or not. I provide insight or my opinion on perspectives that interest me, and try to be creative about it (if I can). Nothing changes with this approach, except the play I write about.

When rereading my work I am surprised to see how some/most of these topics could relate to other plays. Love as blind and appealing can be related to the other plays as well, (very easily) such as Othello, Twelfth Night, and Much Ado about Nothing. I think Twelfth Night was really the only ending that struck in me a desire to change it. Othello’s ending could be better, but I think the tragedy of its end works with the play and I might not want to really change it. It would seem these ideas can be easily related to the other plays in one way or another. Revisiting these ideas and seeing how they apply to other plays is a good idea, it can also create a mode of compare and contrast between the plays and this would be an interesting idea of further analysis for Shakespeare.

My posts show my interests as a reader of Shakespeare; there are certain characters I like more than others, themes, ideas, actions, plays, etc. I think being a “reader of Shakespeare” can be a genre of its own because he covers so many topics throughout his various plays you can really uncover a lot about yourself and reading (in general). This is something I really value because upon reading each play I can see what aspect I like or dislike as I’m reading or compare/contrast to other plays and how I felt when reading them. Also, it can be easy to make connections between the plays which is equally important. I think what is most important is that Shakespeare would appreciate my blogs and interpretations/ideas about his plays- at least I would hope so since i’ve put a lot of thought into each post!

Leave a Reply

