Love is Indeed Blind, a meta-blog post

So far this semester, I wrote two blog posts: Layers of Love and Dreams and What You Wear Is(n’t) What You are. While I accidentally and regretfully missed one blog post, I enjoy the process of looking more in depth into Shakespeare and reading everyone’s incites of the text on their blogs.

For both of my blog posts, I touched upon how there are different types of love going on. A Midsummer’s Night Dream has a lot of subplots and love triangles, whereas in Twelfth Night, there is the love Orsino feels for Cesario and the love he feels for Viola. After taking the first half of this course and analyzing Shakespeare in ways I never have before, I see just how similar a lot of his plays really are. I think that I understood how to blog about Shakespeare better in my later post. I would like to comment on the reply to my second blog: “I am not sure I entirely agree with you that Shakespeare was making the statement that love is blind. There is a definitive history in Shakespeare’s past and in his plays of homosexuality. This, obviously, an issue in his time that was not widely spoken of or accepted, therefore Shakespeare attempted to slip his opinions of the matter into his works. I feel that Orsino might have had more of a romantic desire for Cesario as he is more comfortable around the males than the opposite sex. With Olivia, Orsino cannot be bothered to go and woo her himself; he either is too afraid or simply does not want to because she is not who he really wants. He never tries to tell Olivia what his feelings are for her and just tries to buy her affection. With that, I think a case could be made in the idea that Orsino had feelings for Cesario that were more than platonic. And his character, a useful tool for Shakespeare to make a societal statement.” I definitely agree that his feelings were more than platonic. While writing the last sentence of that post I subconsciously wrote “love is blind” and this is actually a Shakespeare quote. Maybe he wasn’t entirely trying to prove that “love is blind” with the love presented to us in Twelfth Night, but while looking up the phrase I found:

 

Because Love is blind. O, that you had mine eyes;

or your own eyes had the lights they were wont to

have when you chid at Sir Proteus for going ungartered! (2.1.67-69).


which came from Speed from Two Gentlemen of Verona, which I have not read but I like how this happened by chance. I wonder how often I have used a Shakespearean phrase from another play while discussing one we have read in class, because this was an exciting find. During the rest of the semester I hope to take more time with the blog posts. WordPress is definitely hard for me to get used to using but I will promise to try harder.

Leave a Reply

